Member of Parliament (Botswana)

Member of Parliament (Botswana) The National Assembly is the legislature Botswana's unicameral Parliament.

It is advised by the Ntlo ya Dikgosi (Tswana for "House of Chiefs"), which is not a house of Parliament.The current National Assembly, formed following elections held on 16 October 2009, has a total of 63 members. 57 members are directly elected in single member constituencies using the simple-majority (or First-past-the-post) system for a term of five years. Four members are co-opted (by secret b

allot of the rest of the Assembly) while the remaining two (the President and Attorney-general) are ex officio.Previous National Assembly election resultsNote: In the pre-independence 1965 election, the Botswana Democratic Party was known as the Bechuanaland Democratic party and the Botswana People's Party was known as the Bechuanaland People's Party.Despite being a one party dominant state since independence, all elections held in the country have been considered democratic, free, and fair.

Operating as usual




Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Member of Parliament (Botswana) posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.


Other Government Organizations in Gaborone (show all)

National Assembly of Botswana National Assembly (Botswana) Botswana Examinations Council Ministry of Labour and Home Affairs British Council Botswana Turkish Embassy in Gaborone South African High Commission, Gaborone Ministry of Lands and Water Affairs BW India in Botswana (High Commission of India, Botswana) Botswana Police Service Botswana Communications Regulatory Authority - BOCRA Botswana Television BW Kenya High Commission in Botswana Bummhi IEC Botswana