INSURV - Board of Inspection and Survey

INSURV - Board of Inspection and Survey To inspect the Fleet's readiness and deliver independent material readiness insight to Navy decision makers at all levels.

The Board of Inspection and Survey was initially established in 1868 by CONGRESS to ensure that the ships of the United States Navy are properly equipped for prompt, reliable, sustained mission readiness at sea. In 1882, CONGRESS enacted legislation which established the Board of Inspection and Survey under statutory authority, U.S Code Title X, 7304, which requires a Board of Naval Officers to conduct a Material Inspection of all naval ships at least once every three years, if practicable. INSURV has been operating continuously under this authority since that date. Additional and Applicable Governing Guidance In addition to the U.S. Code Title X, 7304, SECNAVINST 5040.3, Department of The Navy Inspection Program (DONIP) and OPNAVINST 4730.5(series) Trials and Material Inspections of Ships provide additional directions and responsibilities to the President, Board of Inspection and Survey (PRESINSURV). Instructions and procedures established by PRESINSURV for conducting inspections, surveys and trials are found in the following INSURV instructions; a)INSURVINST 4730.1, Material Inspections of Surface Ships, b) INSURVINST 4730.2, Material Inspections of Submarines, c) INSURVINST 4730.3, Trials of Surface Ships.

Mission: The Secretary of the Navy (SECNAV) and Chief of Naval Operations (CNO) have designated the President, Board of Inspection and Survey (PRESINSURV) as their agent to perform the following statutory, regulatory and contractual requirements: a. Develop and establish CNO policy and procedures for trials, material inspections, and surveys of ships and service craft consistent with law, regulations, and the terms of contracts. b. Examine Naval vessels periodically by a board of Naval officers to determine fitness for further service. c. Conduct material inspections and surveys of ships and service craft and provide assessment of the material readiness of these vessels. d. Provide independent verification of a newly constructed ship’s readiness for acceptance/delivery; and to determine if builder responsible equipment is operating satisfactorily during the guarantee period following acceptance. e. Based on observations during Board of Inspection and Survey assessments, provide timely, candid, and accurate findings to Fleet Commanders, Type Commanders, NAVSEA, and appropriate OPNAV offices together with recommended actions where appropriate. f. Conduct environmental protection and NAVOSH oversight inspection of Naval ships to include equipment, program compliance, and training. A combined NAVOSH/EP assessment will be conducted during non-MI Fleet Readiness Periods (FRPs), not to exceed 36 months. g. Compile statistical information and analyses on material deficiencies, providing the CNO, FLEETs, NAVSEA, and other higher authorities such information as they may require.

02/04/2020

Issue #28 of INSURV Insights electronic newsletter has been released and is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

12/18/2019

USS James E Williams Structural Report has been posted and is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

12/16/2019

USS Sampson and USS Momsen's Structural Reports have been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and are available for download.

12/09/2019

C5I has updated their best practices and they are available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

12/03/2019

USS Mustin, USS Shiloh, USS Independence and USS Barry's Strucural reports have been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and are available for download.

11/14/2019

USS San Jacinto, USS John Paul Jones and USS Chung Hoon's Structural Reports have been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and are available for download.

11/07/2019

USS Carney and USS Truxtun's Structral reports have been released and are available on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

11/06/2019

Tripoli's AT report has been released and is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

10/30/2019

USNS Miguel Keith (ESB 5) AT Report has been released and is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

10/24/2019

The WP IIG has been updated and is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

10/17/2019

USS Kansas City Acceptance Trial Report has been published, as well as the USS John Finn's Structural Report. Both can be downloaded from our Inspection Preparation Portal.

INSURV Insights, our electronic newsletter, has published Issue #27. It is available for download on our Inspection Prep...
10/15/2019

INSURV Insights, our electronic newsletter, has published Issue #27. It is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

09/30/2019

The NV IIG has been updated and is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

09/24/2019

The following Structural Reports have been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and are available for download: USS Kidd, USS Princeton and USS Stockdale.

08/28/2019

USS Fort McHenry, USS Sioux City and R/V Thomas Thompson's Structural Reports have been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and are available for download.

08/09/2019

USS Eisenhower's Structural Report has been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and is available for download.

Come and join the Navy's Premier Material Inspection Team. Details and contact information below.
07/30/2019

Come and join the Navy's Premier Material Inspection Team. Details and contact information below.

Come join the Navy's Premier Material Inspection Team. For details and contact information, see attached.
07/29/2019

Come join the Navy's Premier Material Inspection Team. For details and contact information, see attached.

07/10/2019

INSURV Insights Electronic Newsletter has released issue #26, which is available for download from our Inspection Preparation Portal.

07/10/2019

LCS 17's Acceptance Trial (ST) report was released and is available on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

06/20/2019

The Information Systems (IS) FAQs and Best Practices have been updated and are available on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

06/12/2019

INSURV's eSTANWG Outbriefs have been posted to the Inspection Preparation Portal and are available for download.

06/12/2019

USS Ramage's Structural Report was posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and is available for download.

06/10/2019

INSURVINST 4730.24D "Gun Firing Demonstrations for Material Inspections and Final Contract Trials" has been updated and is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

06/04/2019

USS Bataan's Structural report has been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and is available for download.

05/21/2019

USS Chancellorsville (CG 62) and USS Curtis Wilbur (DDG 54) Structural Reports have been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and are available for access.

05/03/2019

The USS Russell's Structural Report has been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and is available for download.

04/30/2019

INSURV has released the 25th issue of our electronic newsletter, "INSURV Insights". This issue spotlights an article from Boats and Craft, Commuication, Electrical, From the Desk of PRESINSURV, Occupational Health and Supply. This issue and all prior issues can be accessed from our Inspection Preparation Portal.

In support of Sexual Assualt  Awareness and Prevention Month, INSURV hosted "All Hands" SAPR training this morning.
04/15/2019

In support of Sexual Assualt Awareness and Prevention Month, INSURV hosted "All Hands" SAPR training this morning.

04/15/2019

USS New Orleans Structural Report has been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and is available for download.

04/09/2019

WMSL 757 Acceptance Trial Report has been released and is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

04/02/2019

USS Wayne E. Meyer (DDG 108) Structural Report has been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and is available for download.

03/28/2019

USS Normandy's Structural Report has been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and is available for download.

03/06/2019

INSURVNOTE 4730 "Tailored C5I Demonstrations for Descoped INSURV Inspections" has been added to our Inspection Preparation Portal and is available for download under "Governing Instructions".

03/04/2019

The USS Benfold, USS Ross and USS Antietam Structural Reports have been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and are available for download.

02/26/2019

The MN IIG has been updated and is available for download on the Inspection Preparation Portal.

02/21/2019

The PCU Cincinnati Acceptance Trial Report and the USS Stout's Structural Report has been posted on the Inspection Preparation Portal for download.

02/19/2019

The CC and NV IIGs have been updated and are available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

02/12/2019

The following IIGs have been updated and are available for download on out Inspection Preparation Portal: AW, AX, DK, EP, MD, OH, OP and WP.

02/04/2019

USS William P. Lawrence (DDG 110) Structural Report has been posted ot our Inspection Preparation Portal and is available for download.

Address

2600 Tarawa Ct, Ste 250
Virginia Beach, VA
23459

General information

Welcome to the official INSURV's Facebook Fan page sponsored by the Commander, Fleet Forces Command. This page is intended to provide updated information and discussions surrounding INSURV. Please visit our official homepage at http://www.public.navy.mil/fltfor/INSURV OMBUDSMAN: Sussan Bruce-Ross [email protected] 757-839-3038 While this is an open forum, it's also a family friendly one, so please keep your comments and wall posts clean. In addition to keeping it family friendly, we ask that you follow our posting guidelines located below. Comments and posts that do not follow these guidelines will be removed. - We do not allow graphic, obscene, explicit or racial comments or submissions nor do we allow comments that are abusive, hateful or intended to defame anyone or any organization. - We do not allow solicitations or advertisements. This includes promotion or endorsement of any financial, commercial or non-governmental agency. Similarly, we do not allow attempts to defame or defraud any financial, commercial or non-governmental agency. - We do not allow comments that suggest or encourage illegal activity. - Apparent spam will be removed and may cause the author(s) to be blocked from page without notice. - You participate at your own risk, taking personal responsibility for your comments, your username and any information provided. - For Official Use Only (FOUO), classified, pre-decisional, proprietary or business-sensitive information should never be discussed here. Don't post personnel lists, rosters, organization charts or directories. This is a violation of privacy. The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Navy or Department of Defense. You are encouraged to quote, republish or share any content on this page on your own blog, Web site or other communication/publication. If you do so, please credit the command or the person who authored the content as a courtesy (photo or article byline can be U.S. Navy or MC2 Joe Smith, for example). Thank you for your interest in and support of the men and women of the INSURV. For more information visit the DoD Social Media user agreement at: http://www.defense.gov/socialmedia/user-agreement.aspx

Opening Hours

Monday 08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday 08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday 08:00 - 17:00
Thursday 08:00 - 17:00
Friday 08:00 - 17:00

Telephone

(757) 462-7325

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when INSURV - Board of Inspection and Survey posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to INSURV - Board of Inspection and Survey:

Our Story

The Board of Inspection and Survey was initially established in 1870 by CONGRESS to ensure that the ships of the United States Navy are properly equipped for prompt, reliable, sustained mission readiness at sea. In 1882, CONGRESS enacted legislation which established the Board of Inspection and Survey under statutory authority, U.S Code Title X, 7304, which requires a Board of Naval Officers to conduct a Material Inspection of all naval ships at least once every three years, if practicable. INSURV has been operating continuously under this authority since that date. Additional and Applicable Governing Guidance In addition to the U.S. Code Title X, 7304, SECNAVINST 5040.3, Department of The Navy Inspection Program (DONIP) and OPNAVINST 4730.5(series) Trials and Material Inspections of Ships provide additional directions and responsibilities to the President, Board of Inspection and Survey (PRESINSURV). Instructions and procedures established by PRESINSURV for conducting inspections, surveys and trials are found in the following INSURV instructions; a)INSURVINST 4730.1, Material Inspections of Surface Ships, b) INSURVINST 4730.2, Material Inspections of Submarines, c) INSURVINST 4730.3, Trials of Surface Ships.

Nearby government services


Other Government Organizations in Virginia Beach

Show All

Comments

Good evening, I’m currently stationed at ATGSD. On LPD17 class ships are load centers required to have shorting probes. If so, were can I find that information. V/r Chief Barnes