INSURV - Board of Inspection and Survey

INSURV - Board of Inspection and Survey To inspect the Fleet's readiness and deliver independent material readiness insight to Navy decision makers at all levels. The Board of Inspection and Survey was initially established in 1868 by CONGRESS to ensure that the ships of the United States Navy are properly equipped for prompt, reliable, sustained mission readiness at sea.

In 1882, CONGRESS enacted legislation which established the Board of Inspection and Survey under statutory authority, U.S Code Title X, 7304, which requires a Board of Naval Officers to conduct a Material Inspection of all naval ships at least once every three years, if practicable. INSURV has been operating continuously under this authority since that date. Additional and Applicable Governing Guidance In addition to the U.S. Code Title X, 7304, SECNAVINST 5040.3, Department of The Navy Inspection Program (DONIP) and OPNAVINST 4730.5(series) Trials and Material Inspections of Ships provide additional directions and responsibilities to the President, Board of Inspection and Survey (PRESINSURV). Instructions and procedures established by PRESINSURV for conducting inspections, surveys and trials are found in the following INSURV instructions; a)INSURVINST 4730.1, Material Inspections of Surface Ships, b) INSURVINST 4730.2, Material Inspections of Submarines, c) INSURVINST 4730.3, Trials of Surface Ships.

Mission: The Secretary of the Navy (SECNAV) and Chief of Naval Operations (CNO) have designated the President, Board of Inspection and Survey (PRESINSURV) as their agent to perform the following statutory, regulatory and contractual requirements: a. Develop and establish CNO policy and procedures for trials, material inspections, and surveys of ships and service craft consistent with law, regulations, and the terms of contracts. b. Examine Naval vessels periodically by a board of Naval officers to determine fitness for further service. c. Conduct material inspections and surveys of ships and service craft and provide assessment of the material readiness of these vessels. d. Provide independent verification of a newly constructed ship’s readiness for acceptance/delivery; and to determine if builder responsible equipment is operating satisfactorily during the guarantee period following acceptance. e. Based on observations during Board of Inspection and Survey assessments, provide timely, candid, and accurate findings to Fleet Commanders, Type Commanders, NAVSEA, and appropriate OPNAV offices together with recommended actions where appropriate. f. Conduct environmental protection and NAVOSH oversight inspection of Naval ships to include equipment, program compliance, and training. A combined NAVOSH/EP assessment will be conducted during non-MI Fleet Readiness Periods (FRPs), not to exceed 36 months. g. Compile statistical information and analyses on material deficiencies, providing the CNO, FLEETs, NAVSEA, and other higher authorities such information as they may require.

Operating as usual

09/09/2020

Congratulations to INSURV's September promotions: CDR William Dougher, LCDR Chaz Henderson and ENS Stephen Cordova.

08/31/2020

The LCS 21 Acceptance Trial report has been released and is available on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

08/13/2020

Most INSURV Inspection Guides (IIGs) have been updated and are available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

06/17/2020

INSURV Insights Newsletter Issue #30 has been released and is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal. This issue spotlights Keys to a Successful FCT, Common Discrepancies found in MP Trials, From the Desk of PRESINSURV, Self Service Laundry, OP/NV: Best Practices for C4I and Combat Systems, Proximity Fire Fighting Protective Ensembles, Boat and Craft Inspections and Solid Waste Plastic Processor.

05/13/2020

***TELCON TODAY Starting at 1300***

For all our INSURV team members and families, please join RDML Chris Engdahl via conference call on Wednesday May 13, 2020 for a COVID-19 update and discuss the upcoming INSURV inspections. As regions begin to open up, the top priority at INSURV is to keep our inspectors and their families safe.

Please dial in to the time slots corresponding to the 1st letter of your last name:

1300 -1330 (A-F)
1345 - 1415 (G-O)
1430 -1500 (P-SI)
1515 - 1545 (SM-W)

The dial in information is as follows:

Commercial number 301-909-7352
Access code 62892589

We look forward to your comments and questions!

05/13/2020

Most of the IIGs have been updated and are available on our Inspection Preparation Portal for download.

05/12/2020

***TELCON TOMORROW Wednesday May 13, 2020***

For all our INSURV team members and families, please join RDML Chris Engdahl via conference call on Wednesday May 13, 2020 for a COVID-19 update and discuss the upcoming INSURV inspections. As regions begin to open up, the top priority at INSURV is to keep our inspectors and their families safe.

Please dial in to the time slots corresponding to the 1st letter of your last name:

1300 -1330 (A-F)
1345 - 1415 (G-O)
1430 -1500 (P-SI)
1515 - 1545 (SM-W)

The dial in information is as follows:

Commercial number 301-909-7352
Access code 62892589

We look forward to your comments and questions!

05/11/2020

***TELCON Wednesday May 13, 2020***

For all our INSURV team members and families, please join RDML Chris Engdahl via conference call on Wednesday May 13, 2020 for a COVID-19 update and discuss the upcoming INSURV inspections. As regions begin to open up, the top priority at INSURV is to keep our inspectors and their families safe.

Please dial in to the time slots corresponding to the 1st letter of your last name:

1300 -1330 (A-F)
1345 - 1415 (G-O)
1430 -1500 (P-SI)
1515 - 1545 (SM-W)

The dial in information is as follows:

Commercial number 301-909-7352
Access code 62892589

We look forward to your comments and questions!

***From the OMBUDSMAN***For any impending PCS moves, the link below provides information regarding the new household goo...
04/30/2020
Household Goods Home

***From the OMBUDSMAN***

For any impending PCS moves, the link below provides information regarding the new household goods (HHG) policy.

Click on the link to the NAVSUP homepage and scroll down to the red banner "Naval Supply Systems Command: HHG Policy Advisory 2020-01A", click the banner to review the advisory.

https://www.navsup.navy.mil/public/navsup/hhg/home/

As always, for any questions or to keep up with any INSURV news please contact Mrs. Susan Bruce-Ross (info in the About tab).

04/17/2020

***From the Ombudsman***

INSURV family,

NCIS has recently become aware of a COVID-19 "Relief Funds" scam targeting Navy Federal Credit Union (NFCU) members.

Members receive a text message stating relief funds are available in the amount of $800 and requests the members validate their accounting data. NFCU has confirmed that this notification is not generated from their system.

NFCU requests that any suspicious activity be reported to [email protected]. The NCIS tip line can be accessed at https://www.ncis.navy.mil/Resources/NCIS-Tips/.

For any concerns or questions please contact an NFCU representative.

Stay healthy!

04/15/2020

***30 MINUTE COUNTDOWN TO INSURV TELCON ***

This is a reminder for all our INSURV team members and families to join RDML Chris Engdahl via conference call for a COVID-19 update and discuss the current and potentially future restrictions to keep our inspectors and their families safe.

Please dial in to the time slots corresponding to the 1st letter of your last name:

1300 -1330 (A-F)
1345 - 1415 (G-O)
1430 -1500 (P-SI)
1515 - 1545 (SM-W)

The dial in information is as follows:

Commercial number: 301-909-7352
Access code: 62892589

We look forward to your comments and questions!

04/15/2020

***3 HOUR COUNTDOWN TO INSURV TELCON ***

This is a reminder for all our INSURV team members and families to join RDML Chris Engdahl via conference call for a COVID-19 update and discuss the current and potentially future restrictions to keep our inspectors and their families safe.

Please dial in to the time slots corresponding to the 1st letter of your last name:

1300 -1330 (A-F)
1345 - 1415 (G-O)
1430 -1500 (P-SI)
1515 - 1545 (SM-W)

The dial in information is as follows:

Commercial number: 301-909-7352
Access code: 62892589

We look forward to your comments and questions!

04/15/2020

***INSURV TELCON TODAY ***

This is a reminder for all our INSURV team members and families to join RDML Chris Engdahl via conference call TODAY for a COVID-19 update and discuss the current and potentially future restrictions to keep our inspectors and their families safe.

Please dial in to the time slots corresponding to the 1st letter of your last name:

1300 -1330 (A-F)
1345 - 1415 (G-O)
1430 -1500 (P-SI)
1515 - 1545 (SM-W)

The dial in information is as follows:

Commercial number: 301-909-7352
Access code: 62892589

We look forward to your comments and questions!

04/14/2020

***REMINDER: TELCON TOMORROW ***

This is a reminder for all our INSURV team members and families to join RDML Chris Engdahl via conference call tomorrow, Wednesday April 15, 2020 for a COVID-19 update and discuss the current and potentially future restrictions to keep our inspectors and their families safe.

Please dial in to the time slots corresponding to the 1st letter of your last name:

1300 -1330 (A-F)
1345 - 1415 (G-O)
1430 -1500 (P-SI)
1515 - 1545 (SM-W)

The dial in information is as follows:

Commercial number: 301-909-7352
Access code: 62892589

We look forward to your comments and questions!

04/13/2020

***TELCON Wednesday April 15, 2020***

This is a reminder for all our INSURV team members and families to join RDML Chris Engdahl via conference call on Wednesday April 15, 2020 for a COVID-19 update and discuss the current and potentially future restrictions to keep our inspectors and their families safe.

Please dial in to the time slots corresponding to the 1st letter of your last name:

1300 -1330 (A-F)
1345 - 1415 (G-O)
1430 -1500 (P-SI)
1515 - 1545 (SM-W)

The dial in information is as follows:

Commercial number 301-909-7352
Access code 62892589

We look forward to your comments and questions!

***From the Ombudsman***Below is a link to learn more and register for this year's Virtual Military Spouse Symposium (28...
04/10/2020
2020 Virtual Military Spouse Symposium

***From the Ombudsman***

Below is a link to learn more and register for this year's Virtual Military Spouse Symposium (28-30 April 2020).

https://myseco.militaryonesource.mil/portal/spousesymposium/4/

For any additional questions please feel free to reach out! (Mrs. Susan Bruce-Ross's contact information in the About tab)

Register here for the 2020 Virtual Military Spouse Symposium. No matter where you are in your career, this two-day event can help you imagine where your career path can go and build a plan to achieve that vision. Join to take advantage of a powerful community and set of resources, all for free to mi...

04/08/2020

***INSURV team, spouses, and family members ***

Rear Admiral Chris Engdahl, President, Board of Inspection and Survey, would like to invite you to a conference call on Wednesday April 15, 2020 to give a COVID-19 update and to discuss the current and potentially future restrictions to keep our inspectors and their families safe.

Please dial in to the time slots corresponding to the 1st letter of your last name:

1300 -1330 (A-F)
1345 - 1415 (G-O)
1430 -1500 (P-SI)
1515 - 1545 (SM-W)

The dial in information is as follows:

Commercial number 301-909-7352
Access code 62892589

We look forward to your comments and questions!

04/02/2020

INSURV Team and Families,

NCIS has identified COVID-19 scams targeting service members.

They will be managing a COVID-19 Fraud/Scam Hotline and proactively working with federal and state law enforcement entities focused cyber schemes that target DoN personnel .

There are many great programs for donations during this difficult time, but there are also scams that try to take advantage of good people.

If anyone has received phone calls that are suspicious please reach out to the NCIS hotline (1-800-386-8762) or our Ombudsman.

Please continue to be safe and stay healthy!

03/27/2020

INSURV Family and Friends,

Below is the latest status of all JEBLCFS services:

MWR - all fitness facilities (including outdoor equipment) and the Gator Bowling Center will remain closed until further notice. The Gator Bowl Snack Bar is available for takeout and delivery 1100-1800 (757-462-7758).
Cove Marina and Vehicle Storage are open (M-F 0800-1630)
Campgrounds will remain open and new patrons will be considered on a case by case basis.
All other facilities - The Library, Liberty Center, Gator Theater, Pub 19, Bingo, and playgrounds- are closed.

Child Youth Programs at JEBLCFS - all hourly child care is cancelled unless an emergency or mission essential personnel. No new childcare enrollees into Navy operated centers unless mission essential.
Parent fees waived and space saved for all personnel who elect to voluntarily/temporarily withdrawal their child for at least two weeks, up to May 1.
Parents (active duty and civilian) are required to self-care for own children during all hours that they are not physically present at work. Student spouses must self-care for their children.

Commissary & Navy Exchange (main store) - Remains open to include the food court.
Jersey Mikes' is offering free delivery on base during this time of uncertainty. Order by phone (757-226-8542) or at jerseymikes.com. They are only delivering to housing at Fort Story at this time. Hours: M-F 0800-1900, Sat 0900-1900, Sun 0900-1800.
The following food concessions are closed: White Lotus Home Gallery, Subway Home Gallery, Blimpies West Annex, The Coop food truck.
The Galley at JEB Little Creek will be open for normal meal hours.

The Navy Exchange Barber Shops and Barber School are closed.

Navy and Marine Corps Relief Society - open for assistance 0900-1500. Please call to be screened and schedule and appointment. All worksheets and applications will be emailed to the client to be filled out prior to appointment window.

Fleet and Family Support Center - all centers are closed. Little Creek services are available by phone or email (757-4627563). Fort Story is also available by phone (757-422-7311)

Navy Housing Service Center - available by phone or virtual assistance, no walk-in customers.

Chapel Services - All public worship services at JEBLCFS Chapel are suspended. Please check the page (www.facebook.com/jeb/chapels) for details about online services.

As always, keep reaching out to our ombudsman for questions or concerns and stay safe!

03/26/2020

INSURV Family and Friends,

We have received official word that, effective 25 March 2020, all MWR Fitness Facilities will be closed. This includes the outdoor equipment as well.

We will continue to post updates as they come. Please keep using safeguard methods and stay safe!

03/25/2020

INSURV Team,

We expect to have official word from the Regional Commander shortly, but it appears that MWR Gym facilities will be the next service to close as a result of the virus spread prevention restrictions. Previously gyms were open only to Active Duty and reserves.

More to follow as official word comes out.

Please continue to keep yourselves and our community safe!

INSURV Family, RDML Engdahl would like everyone to view the below video from the CNO to the fleet. Please keep reaching ...
03/20/2020
VIDEO: CNO Message to the Fleet on Coronavirus - USNI News

INSURV Family, RDML Engdahl would like everyone to view the below video from the CNO to the fleet.

Please keep reaching out to our ombudsman, Mrs. Susan Bruce-Ross (her information is in the “About” tab) for questions, concerns, or just to get the latest INSURV news.

https://news.usni.org/2020/03/19/video-cno-message-to-the-fleet-on-coronavirus

The following is the March 19, 2020 message from Chief of Naval Operations Adm. Mike Gilday on measures the Navy is taking in regards to the COVID-19 global pandemic. Shipmates, it’s the 19th of March, 2020, and a lot has changed in the past week. The impacts of the coronavirus are changing daily ...

03/18/2020

Thank you to everyone for dialing into the teleconference this afternoon. Your questions were greatly appreciated!

As more information is promulgated and the current situation evolves, we will post all relevant information for our families and friends.

For any additional questions or concerns, or to keep in touch, please reach out to our ombudsman Mrs. Susan Bruce-Ross. Her information is located in the “About” tab of this page.

03/18/2020

***1 hour countdown to call in***

FAMILIES AND FRIENDS

The teleconference with RDML Chris Engdahl will commence at 1300.

Commercial Number - 301-909-7352
Access code - 62892568

1300-1330 (A-F)
1345-1415 (G-O)
1430-1500 (P-SL)
1515-1545(SM-W)

Our Ombudsman is Mrs. Susan Bruce-Ross ([email protected]) and will be available for any information or questions during or after the teleconference.

03/18/2020

*** FAMILIES AND FRIENDS***

The teleconference with RDML Chris Engdahl will commence at 1300.

Commercial Number - 301-909-7352
Access code - 62892568

1300-1330 (A-F)
1345-1415 (G-O)
1430-1500 (P-SL)
1515-1545(SM-W)

Our Ombudsman is Mrs. Susan Bruce-Ross ([email protected]) and will be available for any information or questions during or after the teleconference.

03/16/2020

***Attention all family members and spouses***

With the rapidly evolving restrictions from the COVID-19 virus, the President Board of Inspection and Survey, Rear Admiral Chris Engdahl, would like to invite you to a conference call on Wednesday March 18. 2020 to discuss the restrictions and how they affect in serve our inspectors and their families.

Please dial in to the time slots corresponding to the 1st letter of your last name:

1300 -1330 (A-F)
1345 - 1415 (G-O)
1430 -1500 (P-SI)
1515 - 1545 (SM-W)

The dial in information is as follows:

Commercial number 301-909-7352
Access code 62892568

We look forward to your questions!

02/24/2020

USS Nimitz, USS Donald Cook, USS Porter, USS Boxer and USS Comstock's Structural reports have been released and are available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

02/04/2020

Issue #28 of INSURV Insights electronic newsletter has been released and is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

12/18/2019

USS James E Williams Structural Report has been posted and is available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

12/16/2019

USS Sampson and USS Momsen's Structural Reports have been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and are available for download.

12/09/2019

C5I has updated their best practices and they are available for download on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

12/03/2019

USS Mustin, USS Shiloh, USS Independence and USS Barry's Strucural reports have been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and are available for download.

11/14/2019

USS San Jacinto, USS John Paul Jones and USS Chung Hoon's Structural Reports have been posted to our Inspection Preparation Portal and are available for download.

11/07/2019

USS Carney and USS Truxtun's Structral reports have been released and are available on our Inspection Preparation Portal.

Address

2600 Tarawa Ct, Ste 250
Virginia Beach, VA
23459

General information

Welcome to the official INSURV's Facebook Fan page sponsored by the Commander, Fleet Forces Command. This page is intended to provide updated information and discussions surrounding INSURV. Please visit our official homepage at http://www.public.navy.mil/fltfor/INSURV OMBUDSMAN: Sussan Bruce-Ross [email protected] 757-839-3038 While this is an open forum, it's also a family friendly one, so please keep your comments and wall posts clean. In addition to keeping it family friendly, we ask that you follow our posting guidelines located below. Comments and posts that do not follow these guidelines will be removed. - We do not allow graphic, obscene, explicit or racial comments or submissions nor do we allow comments that are abusive, hateful or intended to defame anyone or any organization. - We do not allow solicitations or advertisements. This includes promotion or endorsement of any financial, commercial or non-governmental agency. Similarly, we do not allow attempts to defame or defraud any financial, commercial or non-governmental agency. - We do not allow comments that suggest or encourage illegal activity. - Apparent spam will be removed and may cause the author(s) to be blocked from page without notice. - You participate at your own risk, taking personal responsibility for your comments, your username and any information provided. - For Official Use Only (FOUO), classified, pre-decisional, proprietary or business-sensitive information should never be discussed here. Don't post personnel lists, rosters, organization charts or directories. This is a violation of privacy. The appearance of external links on this site does not constitute official endorsement on behalf of the U.S. Navy or Department of Defense. You are encouraged to quote, republish or share any content on this page on your own blog, Web site or other communication/publication. If you do so, please credit the command or the person who authored the content as a courtesy (photo or article byline can be U.S. Navy or MC2 Joe Smith, for example). Thank you for your interest in and support of the men and women of the INSURV. For more information visit the DoD Social Media user agreement at: http://www.defense.gov/socialmedia/user-agreement.aspx

Opening Hours

Monday 08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday 08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday 08:00 - 17:00
Thursday 08:00 - 17:00
Friday 08:00 - 17:00

Telephone

(757) 462-7325

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when INSURV - Board of Inspection and Survey posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to INSURV - Board of Inspection and Survey:

Our Story

The Board of Inspection and Survey was initially established in 1870 by CONGRESS to ensure that the ships of the United States Navy are properly equipped for prompt, reliable, sustained mission readiness at sea. In 1882, CONGRESS enacted legislation which established the Board of Inspection and Survey under statutory authority, U.S Code Title X, 7304, which requires a Board of Naval Officers to conduct a Material Inspection of all naval ships at least once every three years, if practicable. INSURV has been operating continuously under this authority since that date. Additional and Applicable Governing Guidance In addition to the U.S. Code Title X, 7304, SECNAVINST 5040.3, Department of The Navy Inspection Program (DONIP) and OPNAVINST 4730.5(series) Trials and Material Inspections of Ships provide additional directions and responsibilities to the President, Board of Inspection and Survey (PRESINSURV). Instructions and procedures established by PRESINSURV for conducting inspections, surveys and trials are found in the following INSURV instructions; a)INSURVINST 4730.1, Material Inspections of Surface Ships, b) INSURVINST 4730.2, Material Inspections of Submarines, c) INSURVINST 4730.3, Trials of Surface Ships.

Nearby government services


Comments

MyNavy Career Center (MNCC) was created to deliver efficient, reliable, and responsive customer service to the Fleet that is truly 24/7, year-round, and worldwide. MNCC represents an evolution in Navy human resources (pay, personnel and career needs) and provides you a tiered system to handle your queries and transaction requests while at the same time reducing the issue resolution time -- all of which allows you to focus on your job, your career, and your family. In the MNCC tiered HR services delivery system, Tier Zero is self-service through MyNavy Portal. This is where you will be able to take care of personnel issues and find answers to your questions by yourself. For issues that are more complicated, you may need assistance from the 200+ customer service agents working in the MNCC Tier One Contact Center. Agents here are available 24/7 to answer a wide variety of general inquiries and give you basic pay status updates. Contact Center agents are often able to help resolve your issue during your first contact with them; however, some issues are very complicated. At that point, the agent will open a case so that your issue can be sent to the Tier Two issue-specific Subject Matter Expert to resolve in the most efficient and timely manner possible. Please see the attached flyer for additional information.
A letter to Navy Exchange patrons ... To Our Deserving Patrons, Like so many of you, we have spent the last several days and weeks learning about the coronavirus (COVID-19) and how it is impacting our world. The Navy Exchange Service Command (NEXCOM) will continue to follow any and all guidance set forth by the Department of Defense and the Department of the Navy while remaining committed to our patrons both in the U.S. and overseas. Our mission is to serve our Sailors and their families at home and abroad with a key quality of life benefit. With over 14,000 personnel worldwide, we’re also working hard to understand how COVID-19 is affecting our military communities around the globe, and to make the necessary adjustments to operations in this ever-changing environment. To accomplish this, NEXCOM stood up its Crisis Action Team on March 2, with the sole purpose of identifying any operational issues in order to create timely solutions for you, our patrons. Currently, our distribution team is not experiencing any shipping delays for goods. However, we will remain cognizant of any container reductions and will work to keep products flowing. We are closely coordinating efforts with our military resale partners to meet increased demands for products in our stores. We have been ordering extra quantities of masks, hand sanitizer, cleaning wipes, hand sanitizing wipes and toiletry items. Please know, we are diligently pursuing all available avenues for the products you are in need of at this time. As suppliers have availability, NEXCOM is one of the first to procure them. Last week, NEXCOM acquired an additional 24,000 units of masks and 70,000-plus units of hand sanitizer and disinfectant wipes. In addition, local procurement teams in Europe and Japan continue to pursue regional product availability for supplementary units to support those markets. Please note, at certain NEX locations, installation leadership has deemed it necessary to implement purchase limitations on certain products to ensure the NEX can meet the increased demand. Additionally, multiple NEX stores overseas have instituted social distancing for customers in line. For services operations, our primary focus remain overseas where there is the greatest need. At locations where DoDEA schools have closed, NEXCOM’s school lunch program has halted production, but remains fully prepared to provide nutritional food at a moment’s notice. For barber shops and beauty salons that were closed by host nations, we are diligently working with leadership to secure alternatives. Similarly, NEX and leadership are working in tandem to keep overseas food courts open for business. Our Navy Lodge Program has an obligation to our guests to ensure safe and sanitary accommodations. Additionally, as deemed necessary by the DoD or DoN, we are prepared for any of our 39 facilities worldwide to be used as an official isolation or quarantine site. Lastly, to provide for our Sailors who are deployed at sea, the Ship Store Program is always prepared to assist with any stock shortages. The team continues to replenish ships’ stores as needed through NEX Distribution Centers located in Djibouti, Dubai, Italy and Spain. Please be assured that our objective right now is to provide you and your families with necessary goods and to make sure our locations remain safe and clean. Our customer service phone lines remain open at (877) 810-9030 or 001-877-432-1736 (OCONUS). Know you can continue to shop online at myNavyExchange.com. Thank you for your service and continued patronage! Robert J. Bianchi Rear Admiral, SC, USN (ret) Chief Executive Officer Navy Exchange Service Command
The MyNavy Family mobile app has recently been updated to give Sailors and their families links to emotional support information from Psychological Health Resource Center and Navy & Marine Corps Public Health Center. The MyNavy Family app is always useful tool, even more so under current circumstances faced by Navy families around the globe.
Navy Marine Corps Relief Society is still open. See below for more information: We recognize the COVID-19 condition of readiness has impacted you and your family. Everyone’s safety and health is the first priority. The Navy Marine Corps Relief Society (NMCRS) Office remains open to assist those in financial need Monday – Friday 0800-1600 in building 3016 at 1481 D Street across from SEAL PARK. Currently several service families are caught in unexpected situations due to the stop movement orders, and request for self-quarantine by our government. Some spouses are receiving reduced or no pay, children are home during the day which may have increased child care fees, increased costs for food, household supplies, the need for internet to complete school assignments, temporary lodging or increased medical co pays, NMCRS is there to assist with these unexpected costs. NMCRS assistance for basic needs and quick assist loans also remains available: needs may include food, rent, mortgage, electric, natural gas, water, phone, cable and internet bills, temporary lodging, clothing, child care and essential home repairs and deductibles. Vehicle related costs to include gas to get to work or back to duty station, car payments, car insurance and car repairs. NMCRS also assists with emergency travel for the serious illness or death of an immediate family member of the service member or the spouse. Service members require authorized leave orders. NMCRS assists those who are experiencing pay issues, have a need for funeral costs, medical or dental co pays. If you have any questions regarding NMCRS services or wish to schedule an appointment please contact the Little Creek NMCRS Office at 757-462-1596. To reduce the risk safety precautions have been instituted. The Budget for Baby workshops scheduled at Little Creek and other NMCRS offices in the area have been postponed until May. For those expecting prior to May a one on one session can be scheduled. The Visiting Nurses remain available for phone and facetime consults in lieu of home visits for those living in Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Hampton, Newport News please call 757-322-1190/ 757-322-1191. For those living in Chesapeake, Portsmouth, Suffolk and outlying areas the number is 757-953-9584. Utility companies have announced they will not disconnect anyone during this time of uncertainty. The Governor has placed a temporary stop on eviction orders in Virginia. Many creditors have announced special programs to delay bills or reduce accrued interest. With a little patience and awareness, we will survive this latest challenge and be stronger for it in the future.
Excellent information for service members who are transitioning from from active duty.
Outreach and Engagement Links for COVID-19 Resources
Training Tips and Updates - Navy Spouse Navigation Official resources for Coronavirus Pandemic 24 Mar 2020 The Navy Spouse Navigation page, found at https://www.cnic.navy.mil/ffr/family_readiness/navy-spouse.html was designed especially for the Navy Spouse. You can use the official information on this page to go directly to any of the Fleet and Family Support Program (FFSP) programs you want, and other support programs the Navy and other non-federal organizations offer. All you have to do is CLICK one of the hyperlinks to take you to the Webpage you need. Please note - If any of the links include "noclick_", you will need to remove it from the link before copying and pasting it into your URL. Our goal is to make this page the one-stop-shop of information for you, the Navy Spouse. The FFSP aims to deliver the best services at the right time and in the right place. Please see the Coronavirus Disease Helpful Links on this page - These are some quick links for you to quickly find the information you need to help in this time of social distancing. We hope they help you to Stay Calm & Stay Informed. Additional information is provided by the attached flyer from Military Family & Community Policy (MFCP) titled MC&FP COVID-19 Outreach and Engagement Efforts. Please stay safe and healthy during these unexpected times. If you or your command families have questions, use official resources only as your referrals. Your FFSC Ombudsman Coordinators or RCC Warrior and Family Support Specialists continue to be great resources. Thank you for your calm and on-going support. CNIC Ombudsman Program Team
Regarding Naval Medical Center Portsmouth: Effective Friday, March 20 NMCP is implementing a car triage screening process in response to the Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic. This car triage will allow patients with respiratory illness symptoms (fever, cough, and shortness of breath), a history of travel, and believed exposure to COVID-19, to be screened prior to entering the Emergency Department. The car triage will begin on March 20 from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. and will continue daily. NMCP may expand car triage hours based on NMCP’s active duty military members and beneficiaries needs. If you are coming to the Emergency Department for evaluation at NMCP, please be advised to enter NSA Hampton Roads via the main gate in the right lane only. This will facilitate an easy right turn onto Williamson Drive after entering the main gate towards the Emergency Department and the outdoor evaluation area. All Emergency Department patients should proceed in this direction rather than towards the parking garage. The car triage process is simple and efficient for NMCP patients. Those who are being evaluated for emergency conditions will proceed directly to the Emergency Department. Those who are seeking evaluation for flu-like illness or potential coronavirus infection will be directed to an outdoor area where they will be checked in, triaged, evaluated and treated by a licensed provider all from the comfort and safety of their own vehicle. During the triage process, the providers will determine if further evaluation and testing is needed or if patients can proceed home for self-observation. The car triage is primarily a screening process to determine the right course of care for patients, not all patients will be tested. As NMCP responds to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are implementing additional health protection measures to minimize foot traffic throughout the organization and help to mitigate the spread of infection, enabling us to better preserve the health and wellbeing of our patients and staff. NMCP beneficiaries are additionally encouraged to call the COVID-19 Call Center, a screening advice line, at 757-953-6200 or to call/text the Military Health System Nurse Advice Line at 1-800-874-2273. Like other respiratory infections, most cases of COVID-19 are mild and will usually resolve on its own, though it can become severe in some patients, specifically those with pre-existing or comorbid diseases. The NMCP car triage is to help those who are at high risk seek medical care. Patients who are without symptoms, exposure, or travel should stay home. NMCP is committed to ensuring the high quality medical care for our active duty military members and beneficiaries we are honored to serve. Respectfully, Rebecca Poe Work & Family Life Consultant Ombudsman/FRG Coordinator FFSC JEB Little Creek - Fort Story 1450 D Street, Building 3129 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23459 757-462-7563 DSN 253-7563