National Commission for Museums and Monuments, Nigeria

National Commission for Museums and Monuments, Nigeria Official page of National Commission for Museums and Monuments, Nigeria

According to the Act of Parliament establishing it, the functions of the commission include but not limited to
1. Administering National Museums, Antiquities and Monuments;
2. Establishing and Maintaining National Museums and other outlets for or in connection with, but not restricted only to the following, that is,
Science and Technology
African, Black and other Antiquities

ts and Craft
Natural History and
Educational Services
3. Making recommendations to any state government or any other person or authority concerning the establishment and management of museums and preservation of antiquities and monuments declared to be national antiquities and monuments; and
4. Approving Museums that are privately established and maintained for the purposes of Act of parliament, CAP 242, 1990 and at any time withdraw such approval. The National Commission for Museums and Monuments with its headquarters in Abuja, manages Fifty-two (52) outlets spread across the country. These include National Museums Aba, Abakaliki, Abeokuta, Akure, Asaba, Bauchi, Benin, Birnin Kudu, Calabar, Damaturu, Enugu, Esie, Hong, Ibadan, Oko, Igbo-Ukwu, Ile-Ife, Ilorin, Jos, Kanta, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Koko, Lafia, Lagos, Lokoja, Maiduguri, Makurdi, Minna, Nok, Ogbomosho, Oron, Osogbo, Owerri, Owo, Oyo, Port-Harcourt, Sokoto, Sukur, Umuahia, Uyo, Yenagoa and Yola. There are also two UNESCO World Heritage Sites namely Sukur Cultural Landscape in Adamawa state and Osun Osogbo Sacred Grove in Osun state. The NCMM also has the Museum of Traditional Nigerian Architecture (MOTNA); a Zoological Garden and the Centre for Earth Construction Technology (CECTECH) as well as the Institute of Archaeology and Museum Studies all in Jos, for capacity building of different categories of its staff and others outside the Commission. In the past years, sixty-five (65) National Monuments and Sites have been declared, while a hundred (100) additional ones were being proposed for declaration as National Monuments to mark Nigeriaโ€™s Centenary.


Block C First Floor, Office Of The Head Of Service Of The Federation

Opening Hours

Monday 08:00 - 04:00
Tuesday 08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday 08:00 - 16:00
Thursday 08:00 - 16:00
Friday 04:00 - 16:00


Be the first to know and let us send you an email when National Commission for Museums and Monuments, Nigeria posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to National Commission for Museums and Monuments, Nigeria:



Nearby government services