City of Altoona Department of Codes and Inspections

City of Altoona Department of Codes and Inspections Welcome to our page! The City of Altoona Department of Codes and Inspections administers the Pennsylvania Uniform Construction Code through building inspections, property maintenance inspections, and rental inspections.

Operating as usual

City offices are closed today in honor and remembrance of Veterans Day.  Thank you to all who served. 🇺🇸
11/11/2021

City offices are closed today in honor and remembrance of Veterans Day. Thank you to all who served. 🇺🇸

City offices are closed today in honor and remembrance of Veterans Day. Thank you to all who served. 🇺🇸

11/08/2021
Our department has been participating in this workshop for several years along with many other organizations.  See below...
10/18/2021

Our department has been participating in this workshop for several years along with many other organizations. See below for registration information.

Our Landlord Educational Workshop is a little over two weeks away! Email registrations (free to attend) to [email protected] by October 21 to secure your spot today!

10/14/2021
October is National Code Enforcement Appreciation Month!  #codeenforcementappreciation #codeenforcement #thankyou
10/06/2021

October is National Code Enforcement Appreciation Month! #codeenforcementappreciation #codeenforcement #thankyou

CODE ENFORCEMENT APPRECIATION MONTH & WEEK! Thank you to all of the officers and inspectors that go to work everyday to make things better! We appreciate you!

#codeenforcement #codeweek #appreciate #thankyou #buildingsafety365 #ceosf

City of Altoona Fall Leaf Collection and Brush Collection dates have been scheduled.  Please see map for collection days...
10/03/2021

City of Altoona Fall Leaf Collection and Brush Collection dates have been scheduled. Please see map for collection days. 🍁

Trick-or-Treat in the City of Altoona has been scheduled.  Plenty of time to get that candy ready!
09/15/2021

Trick-or-Treat in the City of Altoona has been scheduled. Plenty of time to get that candy ready!

Trick-or-Treat in the City of Altoona has been scheduled. Plenty of time to get that candy ready!

🇺🇸
09/11/2021

🇺🇸

🇺🇸

Our offices will be closed on Monday, September 6, 2021 in observance of Labor Day.  Stay safe!
09/06/2021

Our offices will be closed on Monday, September 6, 2021 in observance of Labor Day. Stay safe!

Our offices will be closed on Monday, September 6, 2021 in observance of Labor Day. Stay safe!

The rain is finally over, but for some City residents the cleanup is just beginning.  Please see the News Release below ...
09/02/2021

The rain is finally over, but for some City residents the cleanup is just beginning. Please see the News Release below on Flood Cleanup Kit distribution.

The rain is finally over, but for some City residents the cleanup is just beginning. Please see the News Release below on Flood Cleanup Kit distribution.

CITY OF ALTOONA NEWS RELEASE - TROPICAL DEPRESSION IDA
08/31/2021

CITY OF ALTOONA NEWS RELEASE - TROPICAL DEPRESSION IDA

CITY OF ALTOONA NEWS RELEASE - TROPICAL DEPRESSION IDA

Rain expected Tuesday through Thursday - stay safe!
08/30/2021

Rain expected Tuesday through Thursday - stay safe!

The City is hiring school crossing guards.  See below!
08/18/2021

The City is hiring school crossing guards. See below!

08/06/2021
www.altoonapa.gov

The goal of Code Enforcement is voluntary compliance.
Noncompliance can result in the issuance of summary citations after violation notices and fines have been assessed. The link below shows active summary citations filed at the Magisterial District Justices.

http://www.altoonapa.gov/Code/Documents/HEARINGS%20(17).pdf

08/05/2021
Altoona Police Department's National Night Out Against Crime is next Tuesday, August 3rd
07/28/2021

Altoona Police Department's National Night Out Against Crime is next Tuesday, August 3rd

Don’t miss NATIONAL NIGHT OUT this Tuesday August 3rd from 6PM-9PM at Downtown Heritage Plaza! 👮🏻‍♂️ 🇺🇸 👮🏻‍♀️

What is a Notice of Violation?  Please see info below 👇
07/09/2021

What is a Notice of Violation? Please see info below 👇

What is a Notice of Violation? Please see info below 👇

Our offices will be closed on Monday, July 5th, 2021 in observance of the holiday.  Have a safe and enjoyable weekend!
07/03/2021

Our offices will be closed on Monday, July 5th, 2021 in observance of the holiday. Have a safe and enjoyable weekend!

Our offices will be closed on Monday, July 5th, 2021 in observance of the holiday. Have a safe and enjoyable weekend!

Thinking of installing a swimming pool? Please see the regulations below.  Have a safe and fun summer! ☀️
06/28/2021

Thinking of installing a swimming pool? Please see the regulations below. Have a safe and fun summer! ☀️

Thinking of installing a swimming pool? Please see the regulations below. Have a safe and fun summer! ☀️

✅REMINDER✅ overgrowth removal includes the area between the sidewalk and curb line.  Property owners are also responsibl...
06/26/2021

✅REMINDER✅ overgrowth removal includes the area between the sidewalk and curb line. Property owners are also responsible for removal of overgrowth into an alley.

✅REMINDER✅ overgrowth removal includes the area between the sidewalk and curb line. Property owners are also responsible for removal of overgrowth into an alley.

❓Have a question about permits, licensing, zoning or code enforcement? The link below provides useful information from t...
06/24/2021
www.altoonapa.gov

❓Have a question about permits, licensing, zoning or code enforcement? The link below provides useful information from the City’s website. You can also call or email us during working hours, or message us here anytime.

Codes & Inspections Page Content Through daily routine inspections, the Code Enforcement Officers identify issues relating to property maintenance violations. The goal is to not only assist residents in identifying property maintenance issues, but to emphasize the importance of improving the quality...

Our offices are closed today in observance ofFlag Day.  We will reopen tomorrow at 8:30 a.m.  🇺🇸
06/14/2021

Our offices are closed today in observance of
Flag Day. We will reopen tomorrow at 8:30 a.m. 🇺🇸

Our offices are closed today in observance of
Flag Day. We will reopen tomorrow at 8:30 a.m. 🇺🇸

Be a good neighbor!
06/08/2021

Be a good neighbor!

Be a good neighbor!

Important information about the City's Residential Rental Unit Inspection Program and registration....
06/03/2021

Important information about the City's Residential Rental Unit Inspection Program and registration....

Important information about the City's Residential Rental Unit Inspection Program and registration....

Memorial Day.  A time to respect, honor and acknowledge the heroes that are no longer with us.  We thank everyone who pa...
05/29/2021

Memorial Day. A time to respect, honor and acknowledge the heroes that are no longer with us. We thank everyone who paid the ultimate sacrifice in the name of freedom. 🇺🇸

Memorial Day. A time to respect, honor and acknowledge the heroes that are no longer with us. We thank everyone who paid the ultimate sacrifice in the name of freedom. 🇺🇸

Over 400 properties have been identified with overgrowth violations since April 1.  Please keep your yards and lots main...
05/28/2021

Over 400 properties have been identified with overgrowth violations since April 1. Please keep your yards and lots maintained!

Over 400 properties have been identified with overgrowth violations since April 1. Please keep your yards and lots maintained!

We now have an interactive Zoning map!  The link below enables the public to search for a parcel and view associated Zon...
05/26/2021

We now have an interactive Zoning map! The link below enables the public to search for a parcel and view associated Zoning information. This is useful in viewing the designated zones of the City, permitted uses in zones, and setback information. The link is also available on our website.

https://altoonapa.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=5c068b3b6bfb4f0aa6fc7205b7f665e7

We now have an interactive Zoning map! The link below enables the public to search for a parcel and view associated Zoning information. This is useful in viewing the designated zones of the City, permitted uses in zones, and setback information. The link is also available on our website.

https://altoonapa.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=5c068b3b6bfb4f0aa6fc7205b7f665e7

Photos from Altoona Police Department - Altoona, PA's post
05/17/2021

Photos from Altoona Police Department - Altoona, PA's post

05/13/2021
www.altoonapa.gov

What happens when a Violation Notice is issued and the responsible party does not comply? While our Code Enforcement Officers make every attempt to work with property owners to achieve voluntary compliance, some cases do result in the issuance of Summary Citations at the Magisterial District Justice. You can view the active Summary Citation actions by clicking the link below.
http://www.altoonapa.gov/Code/Documents/HEARINGS%20(14).pdf

Backyard and Pool Safety tips ☀️ #buildingsafety365
05/13/2021

Backyard and Pool Safety tips ☀️ #buildingsafety365

Backyard and Pool Safety tips ☀️ #buildingsafety365

To recognize the importance of Building Safety Month, Mayor Matthew Pacifico issued the following Proclamation at the Ci...
05/10/2021

To recognize the importance of Building Safety Month, Mayor Matthew Pacifico issued the following Proclamation at the City Council meeting held May 10, 2021. #buildingsafety365 #preventprepareprotect

To recognize the importance of Building Safety Month, Mayor Matthew Pacifico issued the following Proclamation at the City Council meeting held May 10, 2021. #buildingsafety365 #preventprepareprotect

Have you seen an increase in demolition activity in the City? Please see the information below 👇
05/07/2021

Have you seen an increase in demolition activity in the City? Please see the information below 👇

Have you seen an increase in demolition activity in the City? Please see the information below 👇

May is the International Code Council’s 41st annual Building Safety Month.  This month we will be providing you with hel...
05/01/2021

May is the International Code Council’s 41st annual Building Safety Month. This month we will be providing you with helpful code information to promote building safety! #buildingsafety365 #knowthecodes

May is the International Code Council’s 41st annual Building Safety Month. This month we will be providing you with helpful code information to promote building safety! #buildingsafety365 #knowthecodes

Warmer weather means the grass is growing!  Please be reminded of the City’s overgrowth regulations.
04/24/2021

Warmer weather means the grass is growing! Please be reminded of the City’s overgrowth regulations.

Warmer weather means the grass is growing! Please be reminded of the City’s overgrowth regulations.

Wondering if you need a building permit?  See information below 👇
04/21/2021

Wondering if you need a building permit? See information below 👇

Wondering if you need a building permit? See information below 👇

Address

Altoona, PA
16601

Opening Hours

Monday 8:30am - 4:30pm
Tuesday 8:30am - 4:30pm
Wednesday 8:30am - 4:30pm
Thursday 8:30am - 4:30pm
Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm

Telephone

+18149492456

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when City of Altoona Department of Codes and Inspections posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to City of Altoona Department of Codes and Inspections:

Welcome!

Welcome to our page! In an effort to remain connected to our community, we will be utilizing this page to post important and helpful information. Please feel free to message us at any time. While our page is not monitored 24/7, we will respond to you as quickly as possible.

Please note the terms of use:

Communications posted by visitors on this site may not contain ethnic slurs or profanity; material that is harassing, defamatory, fraudulent, discriminatory or sexually explicit, or any material that infringes copyright, trademark or other intellectual property rights. Any such communications may be removed at any time without notice. Visitors to the site must comply with the terms of use and privacy policies of the site operator, and are subject to the site operator’s practices regarding the collection and retention of passive information (e.g. cookies) and other information from and about visitors. Any advertisements appearing on the site are not controlled by the City or the agency and do not reflect endorsement by the City or Agency. Opinions expressed by visitors to the site do not reflect an endorsement or opinion on the part of the City or agency. All postings by visitors to the site may be retained by the City, in its discretion and as required by applicable law or City policy. All postings may be subject to the Pennsylvania Right to Know Act and other public records and disclosure laws, as well as discovery in litigation. This includes, but is not limited to, information made available through a user’s privacy setting on their own social media and other internet pages. Visitors to the site have no expectation of privacy or confidentiality with respect to any content they post to the site, and the City and agency have no responsibility for maintaining any such privacy or confidentiality. If the material you post on the site is illegal, obscene, defamatory, threatening, or abuse intellectual property rights, we reserve the right to flag your account and to delete any content posted by you.


Other Government Organizations in Altoona

Show All

Comments

City offices are closed today in honor and remembrance of Veterans Day. Thank you to all who served. 🇺🇸
Our department has been participating in this workshop for several years along with many other organizations. See below for registration information.
October is National Code Enforcement Appreciation Month! #codeenforcementappreciation #codeenforcement #thankyou
City of Altoona Fall Leaf Collection and Brush Collection dates have been scheduled. Please see map for collection days. 🍁
Trick-or-Treat in the City of Altoona has been scheduled. Plenty of time to get that candy ready!
🇺🇸
Our offices will be closed on Monday, September 6, 2021 in observance of Labor Day. Stay safe!
The rain is finally over, but for some City residents the cleanup is just beginning. Please see the News Release below on Flood Cleanup Kit distribution.
CITY OF ALTOONA NEWS RELEASE - TROPICAL DEPRESSION IDA
Rain expected Tuesday through Thursday - stay safe!