Buffalo Permit and Inspection Services

Buffalo Permit and Inspection Services The Department of Permit and Inspection Services oversees all development and uses on private property in the City of Buffalo, ranging from a new patio in a residential backyard to the construction of a new multi-story office building.

Operating as usual

04/30/2021

Getting Buffalo Youth Vaccinated! We’re making it easy for youth ages 16 and up and their families to get vaccinated at a Pop-up site this weekend. TWO DAYS ONLY! Friday April, 30 and Saturday, May 1 at the GBAUHN office located at 1195 Main St. from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. each day. You can register by visiting www.urbanfamilypractice.com. Walk-ins are also welcome on a first come first serve basis. PLEASE SHARE!

04/30/2021

PLEASE SHARE! Employers are hiring in the City of Buffalo and WNY. Contact the Buffalo Employment and Training Center for more information on who is hiring.

04/30/2021

TLDR: we're expecting a surge of incoming families at Vive and we need your help!

Due to the ongoing situation at the Southern border and the fact that we have been sustaining pre-pandemic numbers at our #ViveShelter for a little while, we are anticipating a potential major surge in arrivals soon. Read on for more detailed ways you can help: purchasing items off our Amazon shopping list (bit.ly/ViveList19), preparing to volunteer, or making a financial investment.

We have been seeing steadily increasing numbers at Vive, especially of families with children. In the past, we have faced several major influxes, which have required an increase in staffing; material goods like bedding, diapers, and toiletries; food; and more. With COVID-19 still being a real concern, our surge plans must accommodate for that too.

We're hopeful that by preparing early for an oncoming surge, we will be better equipped to support newly arriving families and make them feel safe, welcome, and wanted. Though Vive is a waystation en route to a better life, we always want it to feel like a refuge.

WAYS YOU CAN HELP VIVE PREPARE FOR A SURGE

1. Purchase items off our shopping list (either directly from bit.ly/ViveList19 or ship/drop off items to 50 Wyoming Ave, Buffalo, NY 14215). We are currently collecting:
- Twin bedding (sheets & blankets)
- Pillows & pillowcases
- Toiletries (shampoo & conditioner, especially for African/Black hair, bar soap & body wash, body & face lotion, deodorant, toothbrushes & toothpaste, Vaseline)
- Towels
- New, unopened packages of undies and socks (adults' and children's)
- Prepackaged snacks (especially for kids)
- Diapers & baby wipes

2. Prepare to volunteer! We'd love to have a roster of people who have already completed our volunteer application and worked through the onboarding process so they can start helping out immediately if a surge happens. Apply at jrchc.org/volunteer/apply. (All volunteers must be fully vaccinated against COVID.)

3. Make a financial investment in our work. Monetary gifts allow us the most flexibility, which is especially important when we don't know who to expect, when they'll arrive, and what special needs they may have. Donate at jrchc.org/donate or send a check to Jericho Road Community Health Center (with "Vive" in the memo line) to 184 Barton Street, Buffalo, NY 14213.

“Hundreds of thousands of children have missed their essential tests for lead. And it’s something that has potentially p...
03/25/2021

“Hundreds of thousands of children have missed their essential tests for lead. And it’s something that has potentially permanent lifetime effects,” said Joseph Courtney, a senior epidemiologist at the C.D.C.
https://www.nytimes.com/2021/03/11/health/virus-lead-poisoning-children.html?smid=url-share

“Hundreds of thousands of children have missed their essential tests for lead. And it’s something that has potentially permanent lifetime effects,” said Joseph Courtney, a senior epidemiologist at the C.D.C.
https://www.nytimes.com/2021/03/11/health/virus-lead-poisoning-children.html?smid=url-share

Please follow and check out this great opportunity, to develop, grow and network your ambition in the local government s...
03/24/2021

Please follow and check out this great opportunity, to develop, grow and network your ambition in the local government sector!

Hello Neighbors,

We would like to remind you of an upcoming opportunity:

Join Buffalo City Hall's AmeriCorps VISTA Project MOVE program as we fight to alleviate poverty in Buffalo NY through volunteer service in City Departments. We are seeking dedicated AmeriCorps VISTA members to work with City departments, fight injustices and causes of poverty and address deep social and economic disparities our most vulnerable populations face.
Learn more: https://www.buffalony.gov/1116/Serve-Project-MOVE

"Together, we can eliminate childhood lead poisoning as a public health problem by strengthening blood lead testing, rep...
03/23/2021

"Together, we can eliminate childhood lead poisoning as a public health problem by strengthening blood lead testing, reporting and surveillance, while linking exposed children to recommended services," said Patrick Breysse, director of
CDC Environment
https://www.getaheadoflead.org/

"Together, we can eliminate childhood lead poisoning as a public health problem by strengthening blood lead testing, reporting and surveillance, while linking exposed children to recommended services," said Patrick Breysse, director of
CDC Environment
https://www.getaheadoflead.org/

03/19/2021

Thanks to Independent Health Foundation and many other community partners, we're hosting a Good for the Neighborhood FREE produce bag distribution event at #1021Broadway next week.

DATE: Thursday, March 25
TIME: 4-6 p.m.
LOCATION: Jericho Road's Broadway health center @ 1021 Broadway, Buffalo 14212

Bags will be packed with fresh fruits and veggies, thanks to Independent Health Foundation's Good for the Neighborhood.

We'll also have our friends from Algonquin Sports for Kids providing free play activities on the greenspace next to the building. The Independent Health Medically Oriented Gym at Jericho Road will be leading an outdoor fitness class. The Buffalo & Erie County Public Library - Central Library's Bookmobile will be there, EPIC - Every Person Influences Children will be hosting outdoor storytime, and many other partners will be on site providing information about their services.

Fingers crossed for a lovely spring-like day so we can get outside and enjoy all of these healthy activities. All are welcome!

We want to make everyone aware of the importance of doing home repair/remodeling of pre 1978 buildings in a Lead Safe wa...
03/08/2021
Lead Renovation, Repair and Painting Program | US EPA

We want to make everyone aware of the importance of doing home repair/remodeling of pre 1978 buildings in a Lead Safe way. Contractors, Landlords and Property Owners should be taking the one day EPA RRP course so as not to create lead hazards inside and outside of buildings. Scraping, sanding burning paint off buildings without plastic containment means lead dust/paint chips left on floors/ground that are hazards to children and pets! Blowing chips/dust into storm drains creates water hazards. Lack of PPE means workers not only being exposed but in some cases they bring lead dust home on their clothes and have unintentionally poisoned their children/grandchildren! More info on EPA Lead Safety Rule at

This page describes RRP rule requirements for contractors, do-it-yourselfers, training providers, child-occupied facilities, property managers, consumers, and links to materials and downloads.

There is no safe level of lead in the body. Lead can harm anyone, but babies, young children and pregnant women are at s...
03/04/2021
Get Ahead Of Lead - Get Ahead Of Lead

There is no safe level of lead in the body. Lead can harm anyone, but babies, young children and pregnant women are at special risk. A child with lead poisoning doesn’t look or act sick, but lead can cause serious health problems. Learn more about how to have a healthy home for your child's healthy development

Buffalo is renovating more than ever before. That means it’s time for all of us—each landlord, tenant, and homeowner—to help make our community lead-safe.

"Lead in a child’s body hurts the developing brain. Studies show that lead poisoned children cannot learn as well as oth...
03/02/2021
Lead Away!

"Lead in a child’s body hurts the developing brain. Studies show that lead poisoned children cannot learn as well as others. Adolescents who were poisoned in early childhood often drop out of school and have trouble moderating social behaviors." — Get Ahead of Lead

Sesame Street Lead Poisoning Prevention Project by Sesame Workshop. Development of this video was made possible by generous financial support provided by The...

We cannot protect the health and well-being of our children without the cooperation of property owners in providing safe...
02/25/2021
Rental Registration | Buffalo, NY

We cannot protect the health and well-being of our children without the cooperation of property owners in providing safe, livable, adequate housing that does not threaten the livelihood of the families who reside there. Just as we hold restaurants to basic health and safety standards, housing providers should be ensuring homes are well-maintained so that children have the chance to thrive and reach their full potential, not be robbed of a bright future due to avoidable exposure to lead paint. Get Ahead of Lead

The Rental Registration Program was implemented in January 2005 to help identify problem properties and absentee landlords. It is used to assist code enforcement efforts to improve the quality of life for tenants and neighbors of rental dwellings.

Can Children Be Poisoned by Lead in Your Home?Some house paints contain lead, and this metal can poison your children. M...
02/22/2021

Can Children Be Poisoned by Lead in Your Home?
Some house paints contain lead, and this metal can poison your children. Most problems with lead come from old paint or lead dust.
Lead can poison your children if they get it into their mouths or breathe it in from the air. If a pregnant woman gets lead in her body, it can harm her unborn baby.
www.getaheadoflead.org

Can Children Be Poisoned by Lead in Your Home?
Some house paints contain lead, and this metal can poison your children. Most problems with lead come from old paint or lead dust.
Lead can poison your children if they get it into their mouths or breathe it in from the air. If a pregnant woman gets lead in her body, it can harm her unborn baby.
www.getaheadoflead.org

Lead poisoning is preventable! A simple blood test can detect lead. Find out more from the https://www.getaheadoflead.or...
02/18/2021
Leading baby food manufacturers knowingly sold products with high levels of toxic metals, a congressional investigation found

Lead poisoning is preventable! A simple blood test can detect lead. Find out more from the https://www.getaheadoflead.org/ Lead Poisoning Prevention Program! #leadfreekids
https://www.cnn.com/2021/02/04/health/baby-food-heavy-metal-toxins-wellness/index.html

Internal documents from major baby food manufacturers show they tested and used ingredients with high levels of arsenic, lead, cadmium and mercury in the baby food they sold to parents, according to a congressional investigation.

Did you know? The Erie County Department of Environment and Planning provides 0% loans to low/medium-income homeowners t...
02/17/2021

Did you know? The Erie County Department of Environment and Planning provides 0% loans to low/medium-income homeowners to help with essential repairs.

For application information or to learn about other housing programs, visit: www2.erie.gov/environment/community-development#HousingPrograms

#housing #SmartGrowth Erie County, NY

Did you know? The Erie County Department of Environment and Planning provides 0% loans to low/medium-income homeowners to help with essential repairs.

For application information or to learn about other housing programs, visit: www2.erie.gov/environment/community-development#HousingPrograms

#housing #SmartGrowth Erie County, NY

You are invited to a Zoom webinar. When: Feb 16, 2021 05:30 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada) Topic: Lead awareness for Ro...
02/01/2021
Welcome! You are invited to join a webinar: Lead awareness for Rochester Coalition to Prevent Lead Poisoning. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email about joining the webinar.

You are invited to a Zoom webinar.

When: Feb 16, 2021 05:30 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Topic: Lead awareness for Rochester Coalition to Prevent Lead Poisoning



Please register through the following link:

https://cornell.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_dOU7MMTfTjaAfy53j26ABQ



After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Welcome! You are invited to join a webinar: Lead awareness for Rochester Coalition to Prevent Lead Poisoning. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email about joining the webinar.

We are very grateful for Hunter's strong work ethic and determination towards improving the engagement and outreach betw...
01/22/2021

We are very grateful for Hunter's strong work ethic and determination towards improving the engagement and outreach between our department and the residents we serve.

Thank you for the spotlight!

Bills fever is hot, city hall selfie station OPEN
01/11/2021
Bills fever is hot, city hall selfie station OPEN

Bills fever is hot, city hall selfie station OPEN

Buffalo, N.Y. (WBEN) - The Buffalo Bills ‘selfie challenge’ is on. Mayor Byron Brown is looking to reach a goal of at least 2021 selfie photos taken in front of the giant banners on front of city hall before the next playoff game.

Please make sure to checkout City Hall this week! #GoBills
01/10/2021

Please make sure to checkout City Hall this week! #GoBills

SNOWSTORM UPDATE
12/27/2020

SNOWSTORM UPDATE

SNOWSTORM UPDATE: Due to significant snowfall, crews need the ability to plow streets with 9am-4pm Alternate Side Parking restrictions. Vehicles parked on those streets must be moved to the legal side by 9 AM on MONDAY, Dec. 28, 2020.

To get parking notifications right to your phone, sign up today! Help us get the word out, please SHARE with your neighbors!

Mayor Byron W. Brown
12/26/2020

Mayor Byron W. Brown

SNOWSTORM UPDATE! If your garbage & recycling services were scheduled for Saturday, but your trash has not been picked up yet, please leave your totes at the curb. The significant snowfall has impacted the collection schedule, but crews will continue pick-up until all routes are complete. Please SHARE to keep your neighbors updated!

The Toy Joy Drive continues!
12/21/2020

The Toy Joy Drive continues!

The Toy Joy Drive continues! We are still collecting new or unwrapped toys and gift cards for children in need. You can drop off donations to bins located at both entrances in Buffalo City Hall. Please help us ensure that every child in #Buffalo has a gift to open this holiday season!

Get Ahead of Lead
12/21/2020
Get Ahead of Lead

Get Ahead of Lead

Protect yourself and your tenants from lead exposure through available funding, training and educational resources.

Are you in need of household essentials? We are here to HELP!PLEASE join us Sunday Dec 20th for Jericho Road Community "...
12/15/2020

Are you in need of household essentials? We are here to HELP!

PLEASE join us Sunday Dec 20th for Jericho Road Community "Comfort & Joy" Giveaway!!!

Also, we will be giving out Lead Safety Kits! (limited # available)

We are hosting a Comfort & Joy Giveaway on Sunday, December 20. With our partners, we will be handing out FREE bags of food and take-home meals, toys, blankets, and hats/gloves/scarves to the community.

DATE: Sunday, December 20

TIMES & LOCATIONS:

10 a.m. - 12 p.m. (or until supplies run out) at 1021 Broadway, Buffalo 14212

2 p.m. - 4 p.m. (or until supplies run out ) at 184 Barton Street, Buffalo 14213

Drive-thru or walk-up. Please wear a mask. First-come, first-served. All are welcome!

Thank you to the following for supporting this event and making it possible:
The Children's Hospital of Buffalo Foundation
UnitedHealthcare Community Plan
Fillmore District Council Member Mitch Nowakowski
Rich Products & Rich Family Foundation
Niagara District Council Member David A. Rivera
County Legislator Howard Johnson
EPIC - Every Person Influences Children
FeedMore WNY
Tops Friendly Markets
Independent Health Foundation
Parent Network of WNY
RightDirection Technology Solutions, LLC
launchTECH

We are humbled to be nationally recognized for our efforts of helping our residents and children have the resources to b...
12/12/2020
Brown Administration Recognized Nationally for Housing Safety

We are humbled to be nationally recognized for our efforts of helping our residents and children have the resources to be in a safe and healthy home during this pandemic! Thank you @MayorByronW.Brown for you initiative in this program. We hope to continue our efforts on "Being a good Neighbor" for as long as we can. Please everyone stay safe and healthy and happy holidays!

This includes Mayor Brown’s Good Neighbors Network.

Fillmore District Council Member Mitch Nowakowski
11/11/2020

Fillmore District Council Member Mitch Nowakowski

Today I was proud to introduce legislation with my colleague Niagara District Council Member David A. Rivera to combat lead poisoning in The City of Buffalo.

These ordinance amendments aim to strengthen public health in our communities, especially in Broadway-Fillmore which has a high rate of lead paint in their homes.

I look forward to these items being discussed in the Common Council Committee on Legislation on November 17th via Zoom. Please refer to the press release below and link to the November 10th Council agenda for more information!

Link: http://buffalony.iqm2.com/Citizens/Detail_Meeting.aspx?ID=2127

Fillmore District Council Member Mitch Nowakowski
11/11/2020

Fillmore District Council Member Mitch Nowakowski

Today I was proud to introduce legislation with my colleague Niagara District Council Member David A. Rivera to combat lead poisoning in The City of Buffalo.

These ordinance amendments aim to strengthen public health in our communities, especially in Broadway-Fillmore which has a high rate of lead paint in their homes.

I look forward to these items being discussed in the Common Council Committee on Legislation on November 17th via Zoom. Please refer to the press release below and link to the November 10th Council agenda for more information!

Link: http://buffalony.iqm2.com/Citizens/Detail_Meeting.aspx?ID=2127

11/11/2020
Fillmore District Council Member Mitch Nowakowski

Thanks you for the hard work Councilmember Mitch Nowakowski

The City of Buffalo has a lead problem, and we're going to do something about it.

Two of three the zip codes most affected by lead poisoning are in the Broadway-Fillmore neighborhood. The legislation that we introduced to the Common Council today will help our neighborhoods in becoming healthy and sustainable environments for children and families that call them home.

I look forward to discussing these important issues during the Committee on Legislation on Tuesday (11/17) at 1pm and can be watched live on the Common Council page www.facebook.com/bflocc

Address

65 Niagara Square
Buffalo, NY
14202

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Buffalo Permit and Inspection Services posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to Buffalo Permit and Inspection Services:

Videos

Nearby government services


Other Public & Government Services in Buffalo

Show All