Homewood Public Library, Homewood, AL

Homewood Public Library, Homewood, AL We love a good book or eBook, and like to listen to audiobooks and CDs, watch DVDs, and play video games. Continuing education is something we believe in and we always welcome a challenge, but most of all we love to laugh and have FUN!
(16)

Founded in 1941, the award-winning Homewood Public Library offers books, movies, music and lots of great programming for all ages. We also have fantastic online resources, including databases, ebooks, and streaming media.

Operating as usual

Join us for an online reading challenge that is all about discovering diverse titles! This week, our suggested reading l...
11/17/2020
Read Woke at Home: Asian American/Pacific Islander Voices

Join us for an online reading challenge that is all about discovering diverse titles! This week, our suggested reading list focuses on Asian American/Pacific Islander characters and stories.

Join us for an online reading challenge that is all about discovering diverse titles! Starting September 1, log your books and earn badges for a chance to win diverse book bundles and prizes. Open …

If you ever wondered what it’s like to jump in a time machine, historical fiction might be the genre for you. Here are s...
11/16/2020
Teen Reads: Historical Fiction

If you ever wondered what it’s like to jump in a time machine, historical fiction might be the genre for you. Here are some titles you might like.

Historical fiction is a literary genre in which the plot takes place in a setting located in the past. The main thing about historical fiction is that it is set in the past and focus…

This week, our suggested reading list spotlights characters and stories centered around Immigrants voices.https://hpltee...
11/15/2020
Read Woke At Home: Immigration

This week, our suggested reading list spotlights characters and stories centered around Immigrants voices.
https://hplteens.design.blog/2020/11/07/2433/

Join us for an online reading challenge that is all about discovering diverse titles! Starting September 1, log your books and earn badges for a chance to win diverse book bundles and prizes. Open …

To all the writers participating in NaNoWriMo, we can't wait to read your stories!
11/15/2020

To all the writers participating in NaNoWriMo, we can't wait to read your stories!

Who doesn't love borrowing a telescope from your library? For FREE! To take home a telescope place your hold online: htt...
11/15/2020

Who doesn't love borrowing a telescope from your library? For FREE! To take home a telescope place your hold online: https://goo.gl/TMeu22

📷 pre-covid19

Today marks the start of Diwali, a Festival of Lights and one of the most popular Hindu festivals. Wishing you a luminou...
11/14/2020

Today marks the start of Diwali, a Festival of Lights and one of the most popular Hindu festivals. Wishing you a luminous Diwali these next few days filled with light and books! 🔥

#homewood #homewoodtcl #homewoodlibrary

Come on in! We're open Monday-Saturday from 10am-2pm! Be sure to check out the new shelves in the children's and adult a...
11/14/2020

Come on in! We're open Monday-Saturday from 10am-2pm! Be sure to check out the new shelves in the children's and adult areas while you're here!

#homewood #homewoodal #homewoodpubliclibrary #cityofhomewood #wearehwd

11/14/2020
In celebration of today being Actors Day, we're highlighting our partnership with Red Mountain Theatre Company. 6th-12th...
11/13/2020
Teen Theatre Thursdays via Zoom

In celebration of today being Actors Day, we're highlighting our partnership with Red Mountain Theatre Company. 6th-12th graders can join us on Thursday with RMTC for an afternoon of improv, comedy, and drama. Register at https://www.homewoodpubliclibrary.org/event/4516356

This bimonthly program will focus on teaching the performing arts to aspiring teen thespians with assistance from the Red Mountain Theatre Company.

This week, our suggested reading list spotlights characters and stories centered around Native American Voices. Did you ...
11/13/2020
READ WOKE AT HOME: Native American Voices

This week, our suggested reading list spotlights characters and stories centered around Native American Voices. Did you know that November is National Native American Heritage Month?

Join us for an online reading challenge that is all about discovering diverse titles! Starting September 1, log your books and earn badges for a chance to win diverse book bundles and prizes. Open …

Five readalikes for Five popular titles over Five days Anxious People by Fredrik Backman Taken hostage by a failed bank ...
11/13/2020
Five by Five by Five: Day 5

Five readalikes for Five popular titles over Five days Anxious People by Fredrik Backman Taken hostage by a failed bank robber while attending an open house, eight anxiety-prone strangers—including a redemption-seeking bank director, two couples who would fix their marriages and a plucky octogenarian—discover their unexpected common traits. Genre: Relationship fiction; TranslationsThemes: Thrown togetherCharacter: LGBTQIA diverse; SympatheticStoryline: …...

https://hpladultservices.wordpress.com/2020/11/13/five-by-five-by-five-day-5/

Five readalikes for Five popular titles over Five days

Did you know that we partner with the Homewood Public Library in Homewood, Illinois on a 3rd-6th grader event that invol...
11/12/2020
Library’s Cookies & Comics a hit both north and south | HF Chronicle

Did you know that we partner with the Homewood Public Library in Homewood, Illinois on a 3rd-6th grader event that involves cookies and comics? Think your child would be interested? Register for the November 19 event at https://homewoodpubliclibrary.org/event/4577257

By Marilyn Thomas Time to read 2 minutes Share Print Published 1 day ago Last updated 1 day ago Library’s Cookies & Comics a hit both north and south November 10, 2020 - 20:58 0 comments The COVID-19 pandemic has led to a partnership between young readers in Homewood, Illinois, and Homewood, Alaba...

We're just going to leave this right here 😄
11/12/2020

We're just going to leave this right here 😄

Five readalikes for Five popular titles over Five days The Last Flight by Julie Clark Working for months on a plan to es...
11/12/2020
Five by Five by Five: Day 4

Five readalikes for Five popular titles over Five days The Last Flight by Julie Clark Working for months on a plan to escape her secretly violent husband, Claire impulsively swaps airline tickets with a stranger also on the run before a fateful accident compels her to assume the other's identity. Genre: Thrillers and suspenseThemes: On the runCharacter: Authentic…...

https://hpladultservices.wordpress.com/2020/11/12/five-by-five-by-five-day-4/

Five readalikes for Five popular titles over Five days

11/11/2020
In observance of Veteran's Day, the Homewood Public Library will be closed on Wednesday, November 11.
11/11/2020

In observance of Veteran's Day, the Homewood Public Library will be closed on Wednesday, November 11.

Five readalikes for five popular books over five days The Guest List by Lucy Foley An expertly planned celebrity wedding...
11/11/2020
Five by Five by Five: Day 3

Five readalikes for five popular books over five days The Guest List by Lucy Foley An expertly planned celebrity wedding between a rising television star and an ambitious magazine publisher is thrown into turmoil by petty jealousies, a college drinking game, the bride's ruined dress and an untimely murder. Genre: Thrillers and suspenseStoryline: Intricately plottedTone: Atmospheric; Creepy; Menacing… [ 442 more words ]

https://hpladultservices.wordpress.com/2020/11/11/five-by-five-by-five-day-3/

Five readalikes for five popular books over five days

There is still time to register for our FREE upcoming ACT Practice Test with Princeton Review. Register at https://bit.l...
11/10/2020

There is still time to register for our FREE upcoming ACT Practice Test with Princeton Review. Register at https://bit.ly/3pjptVS

11/10/2020
11/10/2020
This is one smart mama! #useyourlibrarycard
11/09/2020

This is one smart mama! #useyourlibrarycard

Virtual Crafting Circle is tomorrow! We'll look at some craft books, talk about our crafts, show off our work, and gener...
11/09/2020

Virtual Crafting Circle is tomorrow! We'll look at some craft books, talk about our crafts, show off our work, and generally chat. Can't join us exactly at 10am? Unable to stay the entire time? Hop on and off whenever you can.

Register online at https://www.homewoodpubliclibrary.org/event/4552884 no later than 9:30am on November 10 to receive Zoom information.

It is time to announce the selected poems from our annual Fall Teen Poetry Contest! Thank you to everyone who submitted ...
11/07/2020

It is time to announce the selected poems from our annual Fall Teen Poetry Contest! Thank you to everyone who submitted poems. We had so many wonderful entries. More details can be found on our blog at https://bit.ly/3mZyNfP.

11/07/2020
Our Director, Deborah Fout, celebrated a big milestone this week...35 years at the Homewood Public Library! Thank you fo...
11/06/2020
Library director begins 35th year of service

Our Director, Deborah Fout, celebrated a big milestone this week...35 years at the Homewood Public Library! Thank you for all your continued hard work and dedication to making our Library one of the greatest!

During that time, she has worked to grow the library into a main staple within the community.

If you haven't heard, we're back open! We have limited hours right now of Monday-Saturday 10am-2pm. Curbside is still op...
11/06/2020

If you haven't heard, we're back open! We have limited hours right now of Monday-Saturday 10am-2pm. Curbside is still operating as normal. Be sure to come in and take a look at our new computer lab and renovated courtyard.

#homewood #homewoodal #homewoodalabama #homewoodpubliclibrary #cityofhomewood #wearehwd

Calling all 6th-12th graders! Are you interesteding in volunteering and making a difference at the Library? Apply for ou...
11/05/2020

Calling all 6th-12th graders! Are you interesteding in volunteering and making a difference at the Library? Apply for our Teen Advisory Board (TAB)! More details https://www.homewoodpubliclibrary.org/tab-application

#homewoodteens #homewoodpubliclibrary #homewoodal #homewoodalabama #wearehwd

Address

1721 Oxmoor Rd
Homewood, AL
35209

General information

Serving the Homewood Community and all of Jefferson County, the Homewood Public Library offers books, DVDs, Blu-rays, CDs, video games, eBooks, downloadable audio books, Internet connectivity, and 24 hour online access to the catalog and electronic resources. The Library provides meeting space, computers, computer training classes and programming for all ages. Whatever your informational needs, we have it and it’s FREE! Hours and Directions http://homewoodpubliclibrary.org/hoursDirections Contact Us http://homewoodpubliclibrary.org/contact Search the catalog http://encore.bham.lib.al.us/iii/encore

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Homewood Public Library, Homewood, AL posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Videos

Category

Nearby government services


Other Public Services in Homewood

Show All