07/10/2026
209-211 Center Avenue
Built in 1924, the property was once a greenhouse owned by Frank Lorraine. After purchasing the land, he constructed the building that we see today.
The three-story mixed-use building features a stepped and pedimented parapet, soldier-laid bricks accentuated by white tiles over the third floor, an English Renaissance-style cast-stone plaque inscribed with “1924”, and a hipped pent roof covered in Spanish tile over the first floor.
It is a standout example of 1920s commercial architecture, and a lasting reminder of the borough’s growth during the early 20th century!
The apartments became home to generations of Westwood residents, each with their own story noted in local papers. Among residents here was Edna Brickell Hopper, daughter of former Westwood Mayor Thomas E. Brickell, whose family played an important role in shaping the borough by donating the land for today’s Municipal Building.
In 1939, Ernest Alexander, who operated a farm in Montvale, was fined for improper care of his chickens. In his defense, he neglected his farm because he was sick. In 1944, Sergeant Robert B. Shellerup’s parents, Viggio and Geraldine, were extremely proud of their son who received the Army good conduct medal. Tragically, Viggio Shellerup died of injuries in 1944 when he fell into the cellar of this building after the door in the sidewalk was left open.
The storefronts have also evolved with the times. Businesses included The Sewing Shop in the 1940s and Ibex Collectibles in the early 1990s, a favorite for animation art, sports cards, rare coins, and collectibles. Since 1994, the law office of L. Scott Beroben, PA has occupied both storefronts.Â
Historic buildings aren’t just defined by their architecture, but by cultural memory - the generations of people who lived, worked, celebrated milestones, built businesses, and helped shape the story of Westwood.
History and current photos provided by the HPC’s business district history project, commissioned in 2022.Â