Cozby Library and Community Commons

Cozby Library and Community Commons We offer a large selection of materials & services. Books, Movies, Audiobooks, eBooks & eMagazines. Study Rooms, Free Wifi, Free Programs, & Storytimes.
(11)

Put together a small bowl that has cotton balls, marshmallows, and beans (or similar items you have around your house) i...
08/13/2020

Put together a small bowl that has cotton balls, marshmallows, and beans (or similar items you have around your house) in it. Talk with your child about what they feel like: squishy, soft, sticky, smooth, etc. Then have your child sort the items by what they are.
For babies, you can use cotton balls and large marshmallows and have the baby feel each one before sorting them.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #earlyliteracyactivities

Welcome to Book Match, a reader's advisory service of the Cozby Library and Community Commons. Book Match is a personali...
08/13/2020

Welcome to Book Match, a reader's advisory service of the Cozby Library and Community Commons. Book Match is a personalized service to match you with suggested books or authors to read next. Just fill out the form and our librarians will provide you with recommendations based on the information you provide within 5 to 7 business days. If you would like recommendations for multiple people in your family, such as yourself and your children, please fill out a separate form for each person. (Link in bio.)
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #cozbybookmatch #bookrecommendations

08/12/2020

Did you know that our library collection features many graphic novel and manga adaptations of literary classics? If not, now you do!
.
.
#themoreyouknow #graphicnovels #manga #classicliterature #contemporaryclassics #virtualdisplay #bookdisplay

Here are a few more books to help start the school year off right! You can download and print the 3D pencil craft from o...
08/12/2020

Here are a few more books to help start the school year off right! You can download and print the 3D pencil craft from our website: http://www.coppelltx.gov/library/library-at-home

Borrow these books from the library:

The King of Kindergarten by Derrick Barnes
Nugget and Fang Go to School by Tammi Sauer
So Big by Mike Wohnoutka
Terrible Times Tables by Michelle Markel

Don't forget the most important Back to School item on your checklist...your library card! All Coppell ISD students & st...
08/11/2020

Don't forget the most important Back to School item on your checklist...your library card! All Coppell ISD students & staff can get a FREE library card! Call 972-304-3658 to get started. Visit coppelltx.gov/library to find out how we can help you this school year!

Thank you to everyone who took part in our Adult Summer Reading Challenge. Keep reading and sharing your favorite books!...
08/11/2020

Thank you to everyone who took part in our Adult Summer Reading Challenge. Keep reading and sharing your favorite books!
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #summerreadingchallenge #imagineyourstory

Rhymes help babies hear words and sounds so they can eventually repeat them. If you don’t remember all the words to a nu...
08/11/2020

Rhymes help babies hear words and sounds so they can eventually repeat them. If you don’t remember all the words to a nursery rhyme, make up your own version — the rhyming is what matters!
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #earlyliteracytips

This week’s storytime theme is Back to School! Find some great books to borrow, a rhyme to learn, and crafts to make! Do...
08/10/2020

This week’s storytime theme is Back to School! Find some great books to borrow, a rhyme to learn, and crafts to make! Download the crafts on our website: http://www.coppelltx.gov/library/library-at-home

Borrow these books from the library:

Back to School with Bigfoot by Samantha Berger
Back to School Tortoise by Lucy George
Louise the Big Cheese and the Back-to-School Smarty-Pants by Elise Primavera
The Berenstain Bears Go Back to School by Stan Berenstain
Butterflies on the First Day of School by Annie Silvestro
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #storytime #storytimeathome #backtoschool #libraryathome

Here are a few more camping storytime ideas. Find some books you can borrow, a song you can sing, and a craft you can ma...
08/07/2020

Here are a few more camping storytime ideas. Find some books you can borrow, a song you can sing, and a craft you can make.http://www.coppelltx.gov/Documents/Government/Library/Camping%20Printables.pdf
Plus, find even more books you can read on TumbleBook Library.

Borrow these books from the library:

Millie Fierce Sleeps Out by Jane Manning
Stellar Stargazer by Jane O’Connor
Maisy Goes Camping by Lucy Cousins
Tiny T.Rex and the Very Dark Dark by Jonathan Stutzman
Pirates Aren’t Afraid of the Dark by Maudie Powell-Tuck

Even More Camping Storytime Ideas:
Read Alouds - All in our collection
Peppa Pig Camping Trip
https://youtu.be/hi1m7VQbcvU

Curious George Goes Camping - Margaret and HA Reys
https://youtu.be/qZomPRJ8LhM

Pete the Cat Goes Camping - James Dean
https://youtu.be/oiQUcd7RibI

Just Me and My Dad - Mercer Mayer
https://youtu.be/cImoLolE-1E

Tips, Books, Guides for Parents
The Down and Dirty Guide to Camping with Kids - Helen Olsson ( in our collection)
See You at the Campground - Stephanie Puglisi ( in our collection)

7 Backyard Camping Ideas for Kids
https://www.parents.com/fun/activities/outdoor/backyard-camping-ideas/

19 Tips for Camping with Kids
https://www.parents.com/fun/activities/outdoor/19-tips-for-camping-with-kids/

The 9 Step Guide to Camping with Kids
https://www.realsimple.com/work-life/family/kids-parenting/camping-with-kids

17 Fun Camping Games for Kids
https://www.care.com/c/stories/3336/17-fun-camping-games-for-kids/

Indoor S'mores
https://www.hersheys.com/kitchens/en_us/recipes/smores.html

Campfire S'mores
https://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/fireside-smores/a251fd5e-e5f8-4123-9b78-9b1dc57c9076

Fun
Go Bananas Camp song
https://youtu.be/o6gHL1LJ-HQ

A Camping We Will Go
https://youtu.be/Rxl0Xi-X4uQ

Sesame Street Camping
https://youtu.be/gOf4ds8jHds

Going Camping - John Denver & the Muppets
https://youtu.be/KyUxlmEgfI0

S'mores Song
https://youtu.be/QRxqqzfsmk0

Tobee Goes Camping
https://youtu.be/Dv9fFe-vp6g

.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #storytime #storytimeathome #camping #libraryathome

We’ve put out a new book in the Storybook Walk! Come out to Town Center Plaza to read The Fence by Toria Knowlton and Ri...
08/06/2020

We’ve put out a new book in the Storybook Walk! Come out to Town Center Plaza to read The Fence by Toria Knowlton and Richard Truong. This is the first place winner (6th-12th grade) for our 2020 picture book contest.
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #coppelltx #coppellparks #storybookwalk

08/06/2020
Dewey D Here - Get Your Library Card Now!

Happy #throwbackthursday (is that still a thing?). Check out this vintage library video from our 2013 #yololibrarycard campaign.

#yololibrarycard - Hurry while supplies last!! 177 N. Heartz, Coppell TX

We’ve increased hold limits to 7 items! That means you can put more items on hold, which is good because we’ve got lots ...
08/06/2020

We’ve increased hold limits to 7 items! That means you can put more items on hold, which is good because we’ve got lots of new books! Browse the catalog and get ready to read!
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #morebooksplease

Do this activity to stretch your imagination.Brainstorm “What if?” questions and ask your family members separately to s...
08/06/2020

Do this activity to stretch your imagination.
Brainstorm “What if?” questions and ask your family members separately to see if they have different answers. Share your answer with them, too!
Sample questions:
• What if we also had eyes in the back of our heads?
• What if we could change our height?
• What if candy was good for you?
• What if animals were smarter than people?
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #earlyliteracyactivities

Need to register to vote before the November elections? Pick up a form in the lobby!October 5 is the last day to registe...
08/05/2020

Need to register to vote before the November elections? Pick up a form in the lobby!

October 5 is the last day to register to vote before the November 3 election.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #vote2020

Looking for some great picture books for this week’s storytime theme? Here are a few more camping picture books. Plus, a...
08/05/2020

Looking for some great picture books for this week’s storytime theme? Here are a few more camping picture books. Plus, a song to sing and a craft to make. Download the craft from our website: http://www.coppelltx.gov/library/reading-challenges

Borrow these books from the library:

Wordy Birdy Meets Mr. Cougarpants by Tammi Sauer
When You’re Scared by Andree Poulin
Camp Tiger by Susan Choi
The Not-So-Great Outdoors by Madeline Kloepper
The Berenstain Bears and the Ghost of the Forest by Stan Berenstain

Time is running out to submit your census form! Share with your friends, family, and neighbors to help get an accurate c...
08/04/2020

Time is running out to submit your census form! Share with your friends, family, and neighbors to help get an accurate count before the deadline.

Your census data will provide the necessary information for healthcare providers to make knowledgeable decisions with federal funded money. Let's prepare our healthcare system by participating in the census and getting everyone in our household and community counted. Go to 2020Census.gov or call 844-330-2020 today!

Summer Reading might be over, but you can still turn in your reading logs for a chance to win grand prizes! Return your ...
08/04/2020

Summer Reading might be over, but you can still turn in your reading logs for a chance to win grand prizes! Return your logs in the white box by the front entrance during lobby hours.
ALSO, don’t forget to vote on the community prize here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/G9H3MZC

Learning shapes helps children get ready to learn letters. For example, a triangle is the beginning of an “A” and a circ...
08/04/2020

Learning shapes helps children get ready to learn letters. For example, a triangle is the beginning of an “A” and a circle is an “O.”
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #earlyliteracytips

This week’s storytime theme is Camping! Swipe to find some books to borrow, a song to sing, and a craft to make! Downloa...
08/03/2020

This week’s storytime theme is Camping! Swipe to find some books to borrow, a song to sing, and a craft to make! Download the printables and start coloring. http://www.coppelltx.gov/library/reading-challenges

Borrow these books from the library:

Goodnight You by Genevieve Cote
Scaredy Squirrel Goes Camping by Melanie Watt
Monster and Mouse Go Camping by Deborah Underwood
Curious George Goes Camping by Margaret Rey

Looking for some extra help this school year? Try http://bit.ly/cozbytutor to connect with live tutors. It's free with y...
08/03/2020

Looking for some extra help this school year? Try http://bit.ly/cozbytutor to connect with live tutors. It's free with your library card!

We've got an excellent video tutorial to walk you through using http://bit.ly/cozbytutor too: https://youtu.be/DuUJHRpjlHM

Starting on Monday, August 3rd, all visitors to Tutor.com will need to create a free user account in order to access services such as schoolwork help, resume assistance, and college test prep. Your username must be your valid library card number. Once your account is created, you will be able to work one-on-one with the same great tutors up to ten times per week.

08/01/2020

📢 📢 📢 More cover appeal 📚 ❤ 📚
.
.
Place a hold on these new teen fiction & nonfiction titles through the catalog.
.
#virtualbookdisplay #bookdisplay #teenfiction #teenbooks #newreleases #librariesstrong

08/01/2020

😻 Talk about cover appeal. 😻 These new teen graphic novels & manga are ready to be read!!
.
See something you like? Find it in our catalog & place a hold. Holds can be picked up M-F in the lobby OR by curbside appointment.
.
.
#newbooks #graphicnovels #teencollection #manga #comics #virtualbookdisplay #librarylove

07/31/2020
Novelist - Find Read-a-likes for Your Favorite Books

Looking for new books to read? Try using Novelist to help find the perfect next read! Watch this video tutorial on Novelist and then start searching!

Need help finding a new book to read? Watch this video tutorial on how to use Novelist.

Recently, the City of Coppell, TX Municipal Government released a SERVE activity card to our virtual teen volunteers. Ac...
07/31/2020

Recently, the City of Coppell, TX Municipal Government released a SERVE activity card to our virtual teen volunteers. Activities promoted #civicengagement and #communitybuilding ❤ Here's photos of teens participating!

Shout outs to Biodiversity Education Center at Coppell Nature Park, Life Safety Park, Coppell Parks & Recreation, Coppell Farmer's Market and Cozby Library and Community Commons for making the SERVE card a success!

#teenvolunteers #teenvolunteersincoppell #virtualvolunteering #remotevolunteering

Here are a few more unicorn storytime ideas. Download the craft and a unicorn coloring sheet to go along with the rhyme....
07/31/2020

Here are a few more unicorn storytime ideas. Download the craft and a unicorn coloring sheet to go along with the rhyme.
http://www.coppelltx.gov/library/reading-challenges

Borrow these books from the library:

A Unicorn Named Sparkly by Amy Young
A New Friend for Sparkle by Amy Young
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
Lily the Unicorn by Dallas Clayton

Read Alouds - all in our collection
How to Catch a Unicorn - Adam Wallace
https://youtu.be/iDTk4xz1EvY

Uni the Unicorn - Amy Krouse Rosenthal
https://youtu.be/8ScPBNb8mJs

Kevin the Unicorn - Jessika Von Innerebner
https://youtu.be/qrEwRnuAOpU

A Unicorn Named Sparkle - Amy Young
https://youtu.be/3KT4yqtEd24

Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great - Bob Shea
https://youtu.be/2OAnlmvlGy4

Unicorn Fun
The Last Unicorn song
https://youtu.be/Enq2pFpBz1s

Unicorn song
https://youtu.be/SKZinDI2wkM

I am a Unicorn
https://youtu.be/0wSllz_hmzs
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #storytime #storytimeathome #unicorns #libraryathome

cloudLibrary’s Web patron application is currently experiencing performance issues and has been brought down for mainten...
07/30/2020

cloudLibrary’s Web patron application is currently experiencing performance issues and has been brought down for maintenance until this can be resolved. cloudLibrary is diligently working on a resolution and we will send out further communication when it is available.

The mobile apps and CAT are not affected by this maintenance.

Have fun counting down the gingerbread men in this repetitive rhyme. Cut out five gingerbread men to use in the rhyme. F...
07/30/2020

Have fun counting down the gingerbread men in this repetitive rhyme. Cut out five gingerbread men to use in the rhyme. For additional hands-on participation and talking opportunity, let the children color and decorate one of the gingerbread men for the rhyme.
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #literacyactivities

Here are more unicorn storytime ideas! Print unicorn crafts from coppelltx.gov/library/reading-challenges and then borro...
07/29/2020

Here are more unicorn storytime ideas! Print unicorn crafts from coppelltx.gov/library/reading-challenges and then borrow these books from the library:

Sophie Johnson: Unicorn Expert by Morag Hood
Unicorn is Maybe Not So Great After All by Bob Shea
Unicorns 101 by Cale Atkinson
Do You Believe in Unicorns by Bethanie Deeney Murguia
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #storytime #storytimeathome #unicorns #libraryathome

Relate the books you read to your child’s life. This helps with remembering new words and concepts. ...#cozbylibrary #co...
07/28/2020

Relate the books you read to your child’s life. This helps with remembering new words and concepts.
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #earlyliteracytips #earlyliteracy

This week’s storytime theme is Unicorns! 🦄 Borrow some unicorn themed books, sing an unicorn song, and make a unicorn he...
07/27/2020

This week’s storytime theme is Unicorns! 🦄 Borrow some unicorn themed books, sing an unicorn song, and make a unicorn headband! Download and print the printable coppelltx.gov/library/reading-challenges.

Borrow these books from the library:

The return of Thelma the Unicorn by Aaron Blabey
The Cutest Thing Ever by Amy Ignatow
How to Catch a Unicorn by Adam Wallace
Kevin the Unicorn: it's not all rainbows by Jessika Von Innerebner
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #storytime #storytimeathome #unicorns #libraryathome

We are excited to announce our extended Lobby hours for hold pick-ups! Starting next week, the lobby will be open until ...
07/24/2020

We are excited to announce our extended Lobby hours for hold pick-ups! Starting next week, the lobby will be open until 7 pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Visit our Library News page for more details.
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #newhoursofoperation

Have you had a picnic at home this week? Here are a few more ideas for a picnic storytime! Download and print this craft...
07/24/2020

Have you had a picnic at home this week? Here are a few more ideas for a picnic storytime! Download and print this craft and more at coppelltx.gov/library/reading-challenges.

Borrow these books from the library:

A little bit of trouble by Sally Grindley
The best picnic ever by Clare Jarrett
The watermelon seed by Greg Pizzoli

Read Alouds - in our collection
The Bears' Picnic - Stan and Jan Berenstain
https://youtu.be/V0TQlIoYWAo

Mouse's First Summer - Lauren Thompson
https://youtu.be/JAdrWHouFlM

Picnic Fun
We're going on a Picnic
https://youtu.be/1WNxXjSTQWo

The Picnic Song
https://youtu.be/4V6Ua0dVOXc

Kid Friendly Picnic Food Ideas
https://www.tasteofhome.com/collection/kid-friendly-picnic-food-ideas/

4 Simple Picnic Ideas for Families
https://www.thespruceeats.com/simple-picnic-ideas-for-families-3542302
.
.
.
#cozbylibrary #coppelllibrary #storytime #storytimeathome #picnic #libraryathome

07/23/2020

Get them while their 🔥🔥🔥!!! Want one? Find it in our catalog and place a hold!

Address

177 N Heartz Rd
Coppell, TX
75019

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Cozby Library and Community Commons posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to Cozby Library and Community Commons:

Videos

Nearby government services


Other Government Organizations in Coppell

Show All

Comments

We did our fox craft! Practice cutting, folding and coloring! 🦊
I fell coming out of my shower last year, and can only get around with a walker. I am now desperate for books to read. Can I get 4 or 5 tomorrow? Sue Paul